pierfishing.com :: FAQ :: search :: memberlist :: album
  Sign-up as new user :: log in

Sign-up as new user | I forgot my password

PFIC Message Boards >> Rod and Reel Advice/Seminars Reply to this topic
>> [QUESTION]: Berkley AIR IM7 casting rod? [topic: previous/next]
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:57 am
beginners_LUCK

i found this for pretty cheap (2 for 74.99/free shipping) compared to the really good/out of my budget rods out there. since im a beginner i thought that these might be up to par? ive heard good things about these rods but mostly from people that use lures... what do you guys think?

Berkley AIR IM7 Rod

* Chromium SS304 Guide System
* Concept guide spacing
* IM7 graphite blank
* Line Test: 10 - 20 lb
* Lure Weight: 1/2 - 1 1/2 oz.
* Model Number: A92-8-6MH
* Number of Guides: 10
* Rod Length: 8'6"
* Rod Pieces: 2
* Rod Power: MH
* Rod Type: Casting

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:00 am
illcatchanything2

Well, it sounds like a decent enough rod, 8'6" is a good rod size for piers, although the lure (weight) & line rating is a little low for my taste. The price is right. If you order just make sure you read the return policy thoroughly, just in case its a "to good to be true" deal. You also might want to check out the fishing section of your local wal mart. My son just got a 9' casting rod/reel combo from there (Monster rock or something like that) and he loves it. He has caught leopard shark, rays and stripers on it with no problems, and he paid about the same price ($39.99 for the combo I think).
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:41 am

sounds like a nice rod for light whipping and perching. dont know the rod, but here's my opinion...