pierfishing.com :: FAQ :: search :: memberlist :: album
  Sign-up as new user :: log in

Sign-up as new user | I forgot my password

PFIC Message Boards >> Pier and Surf Fishing Reply to this topic
>> Newbie looking for some tips (SF area) [topic: previous/next]
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 6:39 pm
ob_kook

I'm not a newbie to fishing, just to saltwater fishing. I grew up in MN with a cottage on a lake and have fished Walleye, Northern Pike, Muskie, Bass (LM/SM), Crappie, Sunnies, Catfish, Trout, and whatever else was biting. I've jigged, lindy rigged, trolled rapalas at moonlight, drifted worm rigs, bait-casted, bobbered, fly fished, heck, I've dug more holes through 3 ft. of ice to haul slabs in -10 degree weather than I'd care to remember!

But I don't know much about saltwater fishing, and since it is now in my back yard, I'd better learn quick.

SO...I've picked up some basic gear. Decent Penn 9 ft. rod with a nice backbone and sensitive tip paired with a so-so spinning reel with 15 lb. mono line. I've got some terminal tackle to tie up some live bait snells, some 3/4 oz jigs and I'm ready to go.

Since I live near the Sunset area of SF, I figure that Fort Point, Fort Baker, and Pacifica are the places I'll start going to figure it out.

The question I have is, given the season, tha areas, and the level of expertise, do you have any general tips I can use as guidance? I'd really like to get into some halibut and stripers, but I am not sure if these places mentioned produce those fish, or if I'd be better off trying for perch...

It sure is frustrating not knowing anything again (but is fun having everything open to exploration again). Thanks in advance for any help!

Kook

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 6:46 pm
ob_kook

By the way, props to you all for this great board, and this great site!

Without a doubt it was finding this resource that kickstarted me into getting edumacated in this "new" hobby! Smile

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 7:18 pm
geekster